Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-17 07:17:47

HeroInteractive

projectile question for a game

Hi!  I'm a flash game developer, check out some of my games at herointeractive.com!

I'm working on a new game, and a problem has come up that I simply haven't been able to find an answer to!

The problem is this:

If I have a cannon that launches a projectile at location 0,0 on a cartesian coordinate system, and that particle is fired with a velocity v and is subject to gravity g, what is the angle theta that is needed in order to hit target x,y.  In particular, if the target is at a different height than the launch point.

I've tried some equations that have worked if the target's y location is that of the launch point, but they won't work if it is different.  I can control g and v and all that good stuff, I don't need to find x or y, what I need is theta, the angle to rotate my gun to, in order to hit a location x, y.

Can anyone please help me?

#2 2007-08-17 07:58:01

JaneFairfax

Re: projectile question for a game

First, the projectile has to be launched with enough velocity v to reach the target. If v is too small, the projectile will never hit the target.

Assuming that v is sufficiently large, then let the projectile be fired at angle θ to the horizontal. If it takes time t to hit the target, then

Eliminating t from the simultaneous equations will give you a quadratic equation in tanθ. Then you just solve the quadratic equation for tanθ, and hence for θ.

Note that there may be two possible values for θ. This is because you can hit the target either with the projectile on its way up or with the projectile on its way down.

Last edited by JaneFairfax (2007-08-17 07:59:51)

#3 2007-08-17 08:22:16

HeroInteractive

Thanks JaneFairfax for your help!