Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-29 13:54:39

cadjeff

Argh! can anybody help?! Problem solving ... VBA visual basic, macros

Hello all,

before you read on, if you can't help or you don't have time...if you know of any sources where i may be able to find help that would be greatly appreciated.

i'm supposed to be doing this problem using Visual Basic, macros etc... except we were given two pathetic lectures on using it. I've never used it before and we've been taught virtually no suitable language for it. I've been looking on the internet and at the library for information, but it's just not enough and i'm at a complete stand still.
I know what i want visual basic to do roughly (i think) and i;ve written it after the question....anyway here's the question itself....

A brewery has 100 barrels of beer. It's been said that a small number of the barrels have been purposely contaminated with a deadly bacteria.
Unfortunately the owner is going to trick their workers into sampling the beer (from one or more barrels). For every worker who takes a sample/s the owner will pay £100 to the family of that worker.
A testing regime needs to be put in place that will minimise the cost whilst taking in account the collateral damage. An estimate of the cost (in money and lives) is required. Confidence intervals are needed for the estimates. Include the VBA programme you develop.

Because of the hugh lack of time that's been devoted to teaching us Visual basic and how it works.....i'm basically clueless.
But from what i've seen on the internet and in books, it looks to me that i'll porbably need to use IF statements and LOOPS most of the time.

This is my own untuitive outlook on the problem.

i = number of barrels

p = number of poisoned barrels  (i don't whether or not to leave this as p or make up a value, or does it not matter?)