Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-02 14:37:04

hina

topology

Let X,Y be topological spaces. Consider Z = X x Y and the product topology genearted by the projections p_x, p_y. Let A be a subset of Z.
Suppose that X,Y are locally path connected. Show that A is connected if and only if A is path connected.

#2 2008-05-02 14:42:55

Ricky

Re: topology

You have a nifty little theorem that says:

A locally path connected space is path connected if and only if it is connected.

I really hope you can use that.  Otherwise, you'd have to prove it as well.  But under the assumption that you can, all you need to do is prove that A is locally path connected.  I think that should be straightforward, but it's been a while since I studied topology.  If it isn't, just come back and I'll see what I can do.

"In the real world, this would be a problem.  But in mathematics, we can just define a place where this problem doesn't exist.  So we'll go ahead and do that now..."

#3 2008-05-02 15:05:48

hina

i have this thm : every path connected space is connected
is this same as yours

#4 2008-05-02 15:20:22

Ricky

That's half of it.  Now using that, all you need to prove is that if a space is connected and locally path connected, then it is also path connected as well.

"In the real world, this would be a problem.  But in mathematics, we can just define a place where this problem doesn't exist.  So we'll go ahead and do that now..."

#5 2008-05-02 15:34:27

hina

how do i start writing this proof using the above thm

#6 2008-05-03 01:18:01

Ricky

Start out with the implication going one way:

Assume it's path connected.  The by that theorem, it is certainly connected.

Now you must do the converse:

Assume it's connected.  We will show that a connected space which is locally connected is path connected.

#7 2008-05-03 15:49:24

hina