Math Is Fun Forum

  Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-28 01:21:23

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Running Raspbian in QEMU

Do the following to test mathematica bundled in the recent raspberry pi's OS.

Get the latest raspbian: http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads (2014-01-07-wheezy-raspbian.zip as of today)
Download and compile QEMU. Follow http://xecdesign.com/compiling-qemu/. Instead of cloning from git as shown there, download the zipped code and decompress it to a directory. So run the following command instead:

sudo apt-get install zlib1g-dev libsdl1.2-dev libpixman-1-dev

After going through that link and making sure, compile. We may use the home directory to install.

$ ./configure --target-list="arm-softmmu arm-linux-user" --enable-sdl --prefix=/home/<user dir>/qemu
$ make
$ make install

Unzip the raspbian, copy the .img file and kernel-qemu to /home/<user dir>/qemu/bin

Follow the steps given here: http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=37386

I think these are sufficient. Some more links for reference:
http://mathgis.blogspot.in/2013/12/testing-wolfram-language-on-raspberry.html
http://www.raspberry-projects.com/pi/programming-in-c/compilers-and-ides/eclipse-raspberry-pi/installing-eclipse-on-qemu-emulated-raspberry-pi-windows
http://sebpiq.github.io/rpi-workshop-instructions/index.html

It may take about 5 minutes from the start of raspbian to the mathematica front-end, computations would be much slower than running it natively, but faster than getting the answers from wolframalpha. Anyway, running Mathematica on Rpi or in QEMU doesn't make much difference, gives timing almost the same as shown here: http://www.walkingrandomly.com/?p=5220
and BogoMIPS shown is 452.19 in QEMU, which is lower than Rpi's value of about 700. (command: cat /proc/cpuinfo)

So, other than simulations and big matrix operations, it's usable!


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#2 2014-02-28 23:06:31

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Hi gAr;

Would you please check the version of your Mathematica.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#3 2014-03-01 01:32:46

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Yes, it's version 10, not even out for PC.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#4 2014-03-01 01:45:29

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

That is very good then.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#5 2014-03-01 01:55:17

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Yes, I can use it for a few functions like obtaining a gf, which is not yet available in sage.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#6 2014-03-01 01:58:31

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

I have not tried either of them yet but I heard that Virtual box or VMware are faster than QEMU.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#7 2014-03-01 02:08:01

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Yeah, but I think they don't support ARM.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#8 2014-03-01 02:10:34

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

What is arm?


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#9 2014-03-01 02:15:44

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

another CPU architecture.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#10 2014-03-01 02:19:21

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

I see, you mean the raspberry machines architecture.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#11 2014-03-01 02:23:29

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

yes, most of the smartphones also have that architecture.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#12 2014-03-01 02:25:07

bobbym
bumpkin
From: Bumpkinland
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 109,606

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

I did not know that. Thanks for the information.


In mathematics, you don't understand things. You just get used to them.
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
Always satisfy the Prime Directive of getting the right answer above all else.

Offline

#13 2014-03-01 02:30:03

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Hi;

Are you sure that the 780 MB Raspberrian zip contains Mathematica 10? Mathematica 9 for PC itself is around 1.6 GB


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#14 2014-03-01 02:53:49

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

You're welcome.

Hi Agnishom,

Yes, it includes v10. The zipped file has raspbian image which is 3GB.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#15 2014-03-01 03:57:43

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

It has a got a frontend? Like the PC version?

and the documentation pages?

Last edited by Agnishom (2014-03-01 03:58:03)


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#16 2014-03-01 05:18:31

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Yes, frontend just like a PC version.

Documentation is not available in it, we have to rely on online docs.

Last edited by gAr (2014-03-01 05:43:24)


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#17 2014-03-01 17:38:11

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Very Good! looks like LXDE?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#18 2014-03-01 18:43:36

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

That's right.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#19 2014-03-02 16:47:05

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Just curious, what DE do you use?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#20 2014-03-02 19:01:43

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

I use MATE.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#21 2014-03-02 19:05:10

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

on OpenSUSE?

Why did you choose that?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#22 2014-03-02 19:10:20

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

No, linux mint.
I'm used to its applets. Do you use LXDE? Can I have multiple panels in that?


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#23 2014-03-02 19:18:51

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

I've used LXDE. I think you can.

EDIT: Confirmed, yes you can

Last edited by Agnishom (2014-03-02 19:21:27)


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

#24 2014-03-02 19:24:44

gAr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-09
Posts: 3,482

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Okay, I'll see.
I'm thinking of installing debian, and compile the latest kernel for only the hardware I use.


"Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense"  - Buddha?

"Data! Data! Data!" he cried impatiently. "I can't make bricks without clay."

Offline

#25 2014-03-02 19:27:27

Agnishom
Real Member
From: Riemann Sphere
Registered: 2011-01-29
Posts: 24,974
Website

Re: Running Raspbian in QEMU

Why would you want to install debian replacing Mint? Isn't Mint already debian based?


'And fun? If maths is fun, then getting a tooth extraction is fun. A viral infection is fun. Rabies shots are fun.'
'God exists because Mathematics is consistent, and the devil exists because we cannot prove it'
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB