Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-26 14:38:48

fdjohan

Magic Triangle

Hi all, I am not an expert in math. But I found something interesting. Please see the images.
92-47-38-cross-blank.jpg
92-47-38-parallel-blank.jpg

Question:
- What do you call these number connections?
- Has someone ever found this triangle connection before?

Thanks in advance.
Ferry

#2 2021-05-26 19:58:13

Bob
Administrator

Re: Magic Triangle

hi Ferry,

Welcome to the forum.

Great diagrams.  But what are we supposed to be noticing?  Are you able to post some more examples?

LATER EDIT: As my morning has gone on I've given this more thought. Can I make my own example?

Just choosing numbers at random, the answer was no.  So then I thought I'd try some algebra.

In place of the top numbers, 9 and 2 I put N ad M.  In place of the bottom addition number (4) I put x.  Then I developed the triangle according to what I think are the rules.

So bottom left I calculated N - x - 1 and M + x + 1.

Bottom right I had N - x - 2 and M = x + 2

Across the bottom I formed equations by requiring that x is the add number.

N - x - 1 + x = M + x + 2
and
N - x - 2 + x = M + x + 1

Fortunately these both simplify to the same equation:

N = M + x + 3

So now I'm in a position to construct my own example.  I want N, M and x all to be whole numbers under 10 so I chose M = 1 and x = 3.

That requires N = 1 + 3 + 3 = 7 and the numbers at the vertices are 71, 35 and 62. And that's as far as I've progressed.

Bob

Children are not defined by school ...........The Fonz
You cannot teach a man anything;  you can only help him find it within himself..........Galileo Galilei
Sometimes I deliberately make mistakes, just to test you!  …………….Bob smile

#3 2021-05-27 16:02:51

fdjohan