Math Is Fun Forum

Discussion about math, puzzles, games and fun.   Useful symbols: ÷ × ½ √ ∞ ≠ ≤ ≥ ≈ ⇒ ± ∈ Δ θ ∴ ∑ ∫ • π ƒ -¹ ² ³ °

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-22 21:31:47

Jeremy Desmond

Marquis De L'Hopital puzzle

Hello,

I have been studying some of the Maths Is Fun tutorial pages to brush up on my math knowledge and skills. (I studied math at university 40 years ago but haven’t looked at it since. Now that I am retired from work I want to delve back in to the world of math.)

I came across an interesting puzzle here: Maths Is Fun puzzles and I have been wrestling with it but getting nowhere. I would be very grateful for a hint of how to begin to solve it please. But I don’t want to be spoon-fed the answer.

Thanks very much in advance.

Last edited by Jeremy Desmond (2022-08-24 00:11:51)

#2 2022-08-23 00:34:22

Bob
Administrator

Re: Marquis De L'Hopital puzzle

hi Jeremy,

Welcome to the forum.

I haven't tried this yet but it looks like you have to make equations for the forces, and also for the geometry.

The tension in the string section BC will equal the tension in section CD, which means it will equal the weight.  Horizontal and vertical forces must balance. And  you can calculate BC using trigonometry.

The three forces (tension, force in the strut AC , weight) will make a 'triangle of forces' so this may be a short cut.

Bob

Children are not defined by school ...........The Fonz
You cannot teach a man anything;  you can only help him find it within himself..........Galileo Galilei
Sometimes I deliberately make mistakes, just to test you!  …………….Bob smile

#3 2022-08-23 20:35:07

Jeremy Desmond

Thank you, Bob, for your welcome and for the hints about the puzzle. I will follow your guidance and see if I can make any progress.

The Marquis de L’Hopital was a brilliant French mathematician of the 17th century. I find the lives and work of ancient mathematicians fascinating. This puzzle was published in his famous textbook on calculus.